You’re Cute… For a Black Guy

One of the topics we hope to explore in this blog is the effect that race has on dating, relationships, and love in the gay community. Hopefully one day we’ll have a post about guys who say things like “white/asian preferred” or similar comments.  But on that vein…

Filmmaker Cameron Johnson assembled a short documentary titled “You’re Cute for a Black Guy” to highlight the dating experiences of gay men of color.  Their responses reveal the realities of men attempting to find love, sex, and romance in a world where the majorities of bodies are white.  “I made this piece because I wanted to make sure that I wasn’t crazy,” said Johnson. “I couldn’t be the only gay black man who white dates have said insane things to, so I ventured to find others who shared my experiences. What I discovered is that my story isn’t uncommon, it’s just untold… I hope that my work will help to broaden the discussions of what it looks like to be a gay man in 2015, and give people insight into worlds they haven’t understood. Also, seriously never say any of these things to black men again.”

2 thoughts on “You’re Cute… For a Black Guy

  1. Pingback: Racial Prejudices in Dating! | Sex, Love, and Labels

  2. Pingback: overread | You Think You Know

Leave a Reply

